Historic Downtown York | Olde English District

User menu

Historic Downtown York

27 N. Congress St.
York, SC 29745
(803) 684-2590

Situated between two Revolutionary battle sites, The Battle of Kings Mountain and The Battle of Williamson's Plantation, the town can trace its roots back to the early 1700s (named county seat in 1785). Much of this quaint little town stands from the past 200+ years that makes it an outstanding part of American History. Originally called Fergus Crossroads, the first white settlers came to this area in the early to mid-1700s following the chain of Blue Ridge Mountains from Virginia and Pennsylvania southward. Mostly Scots-Irish, they called their settlements the same familiar names of York, Chester and Lancaster that they carried from the British Isles and more recently from the north. Prior to this, the first known inhabitants of York County were the Catawba Indians. The War Between the States disrupted life of ease and educational opportunity and Yorkville became a hotbed of insurrection immediately following the war. Federal troops were called to restore order and they occupied the town, living in Rose's Hotel until 1876. In 1915, the name Yorkville was shortened to York. The city boasts of a large 364-acre National Register Historic District, one of the largest in the state.