The Culture & Heritage Museums Announce the 2012 Keepers of the Culture | Olde English District

User menu

The Culture & Heritage Museums Announce the 2012 Keepers of the Culture

The KEEPERS OF THE CULTURE AWARDS are designed to honor recipients for their commitment to keeping, communicating and connecting our cultural, historical, and natural heritage through activities such as, but not limited to, teaching, research, scholarship, publishing, volunteerism, activism, advocacy, patronage, craftsmanship, visual/performing/literary arts, conservation, and preservation.  Since 1999, the Museums have celebrated deserving citizens whose achievements have helped to preserve cultural heritage in our region.  Award recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Museums’ current board chair, former board chairs, and past Keepers.  
The 2012 recipients are Allan Miller, Pat Veasey and Joe Zdenek.  

On Tuesday, November 13, 2012, the Culture & Heritage Museums will host the 14TH ANNUAL KEEPERS OF THE CULTURE AWARDS in the Lowry Family Theater at the McCelvey Center in York, South Carolina. The Keepers of the Culture Awards Ceremony begins at 7:00 pm, followed by a concert by acclaimed songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Darrell Scott.  Tickets for the ceremony and performance are $14 for CHM members and $17 for general admission.  For ticket information, call 803.329.2121, ext 126.

Previous awardees are:

1999 Walt Schrader
2000 Steve McCrae, Sr., Louise Pettus, Wayne Patrick
2001 Harry & ‘Becca Dalton, Bobby Moss, Dori Sanders
2002 Harriet Goode, Jerry West
2003 Nikki Barnes, Dick Houk, Bill Kimbrell
2004 Jeanne Ferguson, Carl Gullick, Earl & Viola Robbins
2005 Vernon Grant Family, Betty Jo Rhea
2006 Vicki Huggins-Cook, Wade Fairey, Murray White
2007 Steve McCrae, Bertha Roddey, Bob Doster
2008 Strauss Moore Shiple, Ann Spencer, Jim & Judy Udick
2009 Dan Huntley, Lindsay Pettus, The Jeff Wilson Family
2010 Bernie Ackerman, Barre Mitchell, Gary Williams
2011 Terry Roueche, Totty Wilkerson, Kitty Wilson-Evans