Sharon | Olde English District

User menu

Sharon

Sharon  (c.1889; 1.3 sq. miles; population: 421).

Museum of Western York County

Sharon is a close-knit community that lies in the heart of historic Western York County. Established in 1889 when the Chicago, Cincinnati, and Charleston Railroad built a trunk line across York County, Sharon received its name from the Sharon Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church, which was organized there around 1796.  Most of Sharon's commercial district is listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. The beautifully restored Hill Building was built in 1913 and was the home of Hill Mercantile and Planters Bank. Other distinguished examples of architecture relating to the cotton based economy can be seen throughout the town.

The Rainey House (restyled in 1906) causes the visitor to recall the Old South and serves as Sharon's own Tara. Bearing the name of one of the town's commercial leaders from earlier days, it overlooks the commercial district and the Rainey Cotton Gin, one of the most unusual gin houses in the state.

Pride in the community and its rich history prompted the town of Sharon and the Broad River Basin Historical Society to establish the Museum of Western York County in June of 2003. The Museum has more than 3,000 square feet of exhibit space that offers its visitors a relaxed opportunity to recall, reminisce, and wonder about former years.

Back